Ruth Bader Ginsburg, September 17, 2020

The 2020 Liberty Medal Ceremony

The National Constitution Center awarded the 32nd annual Liberty Medal to the Honorable Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, for her efforts to advance liberty and equality for all. To celebrate Justice Ginsburg, the Center aired a video tribute featuring performances by internationally renowned opera singers and tributes from special friends of Justice Ginsburg.

The video, which premiered on September 17, 2020, Constitution Day, and was produced by NBCUniversal, is also available on Peacock, NBCUniversal’s streaming service, as well as Xfinity On Demand.


In honor of the late Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, the National Constitution Center is devoting the Friday, September 25, Scholar Exchange class to her personal story and constitutional legacy. Students of all ages will learn about Justice Ginsburg, the second woman in history to serve as a justice on the Supreme Court, and how she earned the nickname ‘Notorious RBG’ for her strong dissents. 

About Women and the Constitution

This year, we celebrate the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, which gave women the right to vote. To mark this milestone throughout 2020 and beyond, the National Constitution Center has launched a new initiative, Women and the Constitution. A celebration of women’s equality and leadership, the initiative includes a new long-term exhibit on the 19th Amendment, national constitutional conversations and debates, podcast episodes, blog posts, and educational materials that engage middle and high school students and learners of all ages.

The pinnacle of Women and the Constitution will be the 2020 Liberty Medal when Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg will be honored for her efforts to advance liberty and equality for all.

About the Recipient

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg was born in Brooklyn, New York, March 15, 1933. She married Martin D. Ginsburg, and has a daughter, Jane, and a son, James. She received her B.A. from Cornell University, attended Harvard Law School, and received her LL.B. from Columbia Law School. She served as a law clerk to the Honorable Edmund L. Palmieri, Judge of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, and was a Professor of Law at Rutgers University School of Law and Columbia Law School, and served as a fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences in Stanford, California. In 1971, she was instrumental in launching the Women’s Rights Project of the American Civil Liberties Union, and served as the ACLU’s General Counsel, and on the National Board of Directors. She was appointed a Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in 1980. President Clinton nominated her as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, and she took her seat August 10, 1993.

Liberty Medal

Established in 1988 to commemorate the bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution, the Liberty Medal honors men and women of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe. The medal was first administered by the National Constitution Center in 2006 when Presidents George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton were recognized for their bipartisan humanitarian efforts on behalf of victims of natural disasters in Southeast Asia and the Gulf Coast. The Medal’s roster of recipients includes many of the men, women, and organizations that have shaped and guided the world through the past three decades, including Nelson Mandela, Sandra Day O’Connor, Kofi Annan, Malala Yousafzai, and Colin Powell.

National Constitution Center

The National Constitution Center in Philadelphia brings together people of all ages and perspectives, across America and around the world, to learn about, debate, and celebrate the greatest vision of human freedom in history, the U.S. Constitution. A private, nonprofit organization, the Center serves as America’s leading platform for constitutional education and debate, fulfilling its congressional charter “to disseminate information about the U.S. Constitution on a nonpartisan basis.” As the Museum of We the People, the Center brings the Constitution to life for visitors of all ages through interactive programs and exhibits. As America’s Town Hall, the Center brings the leading conservative and liberal thought leaders together to debate the Constitution on all media platforms. As a Headquarters for Civic Education, the Center delivers the best educational programs and online resources that inspire citizens and engage all Americans in learning about the U.S. Constitution.

Sign up for our email newsletter