

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Jenny Parker McCloskey, 215-409-6616 jparker@constitutioncenter.org Merissa Blum, 215-409-6645 mblum@constitutioncenter.org

NATIONAL CONSTITUTION CENTER HONORS U.S. REPRESENTATIVE AND CIVIL RIGHTS ICON JOHN LEWIS DURING 28TH ANNUAL LIBERTY MEDAL CEREMONY

Byron Pitts of ABC News to emcee and Mother Bethel AME Church Choir to perform

Philadelphia, PA (September 19, 2016) – Tonight at 7 p.m., Monday, September 19, the National Constitution Center will honor U.S. Representative and civil rights icon John Lewis during the 2016 Liberty Medal Ceremony, in recognition of his courageous dedication to civil rights and the Constitution. Byron Pitts, ABC News *Nightline* co-anchor and chief national correspondent will emcee the event and Mother Bethel American Methodist Episcopal Church Choir will perform.

The event begins with remarks from Vince Stango, chief operating officer of the National Constitution Center and Cynthia MacLeod, National Historic Park superintendent. Attendees will then hear remarks from Jeffrey Rosen, National Constitution Center president and CEO, Sherrilyn Ifill, president and director-counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund, Jim Kenney, mayor of Philadelphia, Amy Gutmann, president of the University of Pennsylvania, and Ed Rendell, former governor of Pennsylvania.

In addition, the ceremony will feature a video greeting from actor Morgan Freeman, along with biography and tribute videos about Lewis. Following the tribute video, Jeffrey Rosen will present Lewis with the 2016 Liberty Medal. The ceremony will conclude with remarks from Lewis and a performance by Mother Bethel American Methodist Episcopal Church Choir.

The National Constitution Center's Liberty Medal, established in 1988, annually honors men and women of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe.

The event will be taped by WPVI-TV/6ABC for broadcast on Sunday, October 2 at 5:30 p.m. and Sunday, October 23 at 1:30 p.m. Viewers can watch the event live at <u>www.6abc.com</u>. Additional broadcast dates and stations will be announced later.

National Constitution Center Trustee, Ira Lubert of Lubert Adler, will sponsor the Liberty Medal award in 2016, as he has for the past nine years. Citizens Bank, which has sponsored the Liberty Medal since 2006, has returned as Chairman's Reception Sponsor. Stradley Ronon, LLP has also returned as the President's Reception Sponsor for the fourth consecutive year.

-more-

Page 2/2 Liberty Medal 2016

About the Liberty Medal

The Liberty Medal was established in 1988 to commemorate the bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution. Given annually, the medal honors men and women of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe. Seven recipients of the medal subsequently have won the Nobel Peace Prize.

About the National Constitution Center

The <u>National Constitution Center</u> in Philadelphia inspires citizenship as the only place where people across America and around the world can come together to learn about, debate, and celebrate the greatest vision of human freedom in history, the U.S. Constitution. A private, nonprofit organization, the Center serves as America's leading platform for constitutional education and debate, fulfilling its Congressional charter "to disseminate information about the U.S. Constitution on a nonpartisan basis." As the **Museum of We the People**, the Center brings the Constitution to life for visitors of all ages through interactive programs and exhibits. As **America's Town Hall**, the Center brings the leading conservative and liberal thought leaders together to debate the Constitution on all media platforms. As a center for **Civic Education**, the Center delivers the best educational programs and online resources that inspire, excite, and engage citizens about the U.S. Constitution. For more information, call 215-409-6700 or visit constitutioncenter.org.

###
EDITOR'S NOTE: A complete list of Liberty Medal winners follows.
Past Recipients of the Liberty Medal

2015	His Holiness the Dalai Lama
2014	Malala Yousafzai*
2013	Hillary Clinton, former U.S. Secretary of State
2012	Muhammad Ali
2011	Robert M. Gates, former U.S. Secretary of Defense
2010	Tony Blair, former British Prime Minister
2009	Steven Spielberg
2008	Mikhail Gorbachev, former Soviet Leader
2007	Bono and DATA
2006	George H.W. Bush and William J. Clinton, former U.S. Presidents
2005	Viktor Yushchenko, President of Ukraine

2004 Hamid Karzai, President of Afghanistan 2003 Sandra Day O'Connor, U.S. Supreme Court Justice 2002 Colin Powell, U.S. Secretary of State 2001 Kofi Annan, United Nations Secretary-General* 2000 James Watson and Francis Crick, Co-Discoverers of the Structure of DNA 1999 Kim Dae-jung, President of South Korea* 1998 George J. Mitchell, former U.S. Senator and Irish peace negotiator 1997 **CNN** International 1996 King Hussein I of Jordan and former Prime Minister of Israel Shimon Peres 1995 Sadako Ogata, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees 1994 Václav Havel, President of the Czech Republic 1993 F.W. de Klerk, President of South Africa* and Nelson Mandela, President of the African National Congress* 1992 Thurgood Marshall, U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice (retired) 1991 Oscar Arias Sanchez, former President of Costa Rica and Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders)* 1990 Jimmy Carter, former U.S. President* 1989 Lech Walesa, Co-Founder of Solidarity, Poland

* Subsequent Nobel Peace Prize Recipients