Freedom Day Celebration

Every Freedom Day the National Constitution Center brings together the top liberal, libertarian and conservative thought leaders in America for a national conversation about the future of freedom.

This symposium is a series of bipartisan discussions examining the role of free speech, freedom of religion, equality and other individual rights. This event helps launch  a nationwide conversation — called Freedom Day —  held every year and hosted by the National Constitution Center.

For more information, please contact Bianca Cavacini at 215-409-6715 or [email protected]



4:00 - 4:05 p.m.        Welcoming Remarks
•    Jeffrey Rosen, President and CEO, National Constitution Center

4:05 - 5:00 p.m.        On the Front Lines of Religious Liberty
Sponsored by the Aspen Institute
•    Kristina Arriaga: Executive Director, Becket Fund for Religious Liberty
•    Michael Gerson: Op-ed Columnist, The Washington Post
•    Gregory M. Lipper: Senior Litigation Counsel, Americans United for Separation of Church and State
•    Moderator: Meryl Chertoff: Executive Director, Justice and Society Program, The Aspen Institute

5:00 - 6:00 p.m.        The Fight for Freedom in the 21st Century
•    Arthur Brooks: President, American Enterprise Institute
•    Peter Goettler: President and CEO, Cato Institute
•    Walter Isaacson: President and CEO, The Aspen Institute
•    Anthony Romero: Executive Director, American Civil Liberties Union
•    Neera Tanden: President, Center for American Progress
•    Moderator: Jeffrey Rosen, President and CEO, National Constitution Center

6:15 - 6:45 p.m.        Keynote
Mike Bezos, Vice President and Co-Founder, Bezos Family Foundation, in conversation with Walter Isaacson

6:45 – 7:30 p.m.        Free Speech: Where the Left and the Right Agree and Disagree
Co-sponsored by the American Constitution Society and The Federalist Society
•    Mark Holden: Vice President and General Counsel, Koch Industries
•    Greg Lukianoff: President and CEO, Foundation for Individual Rights in Education
•    William Marshall: William Rand Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Law, University of North Carolina School of Law
•    Bradley A. Smith: Visiting Judge John T. Copenhaver, Jr. Chair of Law, West Virginia University College of Law
•    Moderator: Jeffrey Rosen, President and CEO, National Constitution Center





Sign up for our email newsletter