Constitution Daily

Smart conversation from the National Constitution Center

National Constitution Center awards Liberty Medal to Dalai Lama

October 26, 2015 by NCC Staff


The National Constitution Center awarded His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet the 2015 Liberty Medal on Monday, October 26, 2015.


Award-winning actor, activist, and philanthropist Richard Gere participated in the presentation and Dr. Thupten Jinpa, the principal English translator to the Dalai Lama, and Dr. Richie Davidson, founder and chair of the Mind and Life Institute,  accepted the award on behalf of His Holiness.  Kaydor Aukatsang, the Representative of the Dalai Lama to North America, was also in attendance.


A video recorded greeting by His Holiness concluded the ceremony


The 27th annual Liberty Medal Ceremony will also be broadcast on local ABC affiliate, WPVI-TV/6abc at a future date.


The Liberty Medal was established in 1988 to commemorate the bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution. Given annually, the medal honors men and women of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe.


The National Constitution Center in Philadelphia inspires active citizenship as the only place where people across America and around the world can come together to learn about, debate, and celebrate the greatest vision of human freedom in history, the U.S. Constitution.


A private, nonprofit organization, the Center serves as America’s leading platform for constitutional education and debate, fulfilling its Congressional charter “to disseminate information about the U.S. Constitution on a non-partisan basis.”


EDITOR’S NOTE: A complete list of Liberty Medal winners follows.


Past Recipients of the Liberty Medal

2014 2013 MalalaYousafzai*Hillary Clinton, former U.S. Secretary of State
2012 Muhammad Ali
 2011 2010 Robert M. Gates, former U.S. Secretary ofDefenseTony Blair, former British Prime Minister
2009 Steven Spielberg
2008 Mikhail Gorbachev, former Soviet Leader
2007 Bono and DATA
2006 George H.W. Bush and William J. Clinton, former U.S. Presidents
2005 Viktor Yushchenko, former President of Ukraine
2004 Hamid Karzai, President of Afghanistan
2003 Sandra Day O’Connor, U.S. Supreme Court Justice (retired)
2002 Colin Powell, former U.S. Secretary of State
2001 Kofi Annan, former United Nations Secretary-General*
2000 James Watson and Francis Crick, Co-Discoverers of the Structure of DNA
1999 Kim Dae-jung, former President of South Korea*
1998 George J. Mitchell, former U.S. Senator and Irish peace negotiator
1997 CNN International
 1996 King Hussein I of Jordan and former Prime Minister ofIsraelShimon Peres
1995 Sadako Ogata, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
1994 Václav Havel, President of the Czech Republic
1993 F.W. de Klerk, President of South Africa* and Nelson Mandela, President of the African National Congress*
1992 Thurgood Marshall, U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice (retired)
1991 Oscar Arias Sanchez, former President of Costa Rica and Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders)*
1990 Jimmy Carter, former U.S. President*
1989 Lech Walesa, Co-Founder of Solidarity, Poland

* Nobel Peace Prize Recipients


Sign up for our email newsletter